Project

General

Send push notification with every message

Added by S E 7 months ago

I am wanting to send a push notification to Azure Notification Hubs whenever a new message is received by the server. I've never done any development on tigase, so I'm completely new to this. What would be the best way to go about doing this? Would using this Java REST wrapper be what I need? : https://github.com/Azure/azure-notificationhubs-java-backend

Thanks

Replies (10)

RE: Send push notification with every message - Added by Wojciech Kapcia 7 months ago

Most likely you would want to develop:
  • a component which would handle communication with the Azure Notification Hubs;
  • a plugin which would forward relevant stanzas/messages do your component.

Please refer to Tigase Development Guide for the details how to go about developing those.

RE: Send push notification with every message - Added by S E 7 months ago

Is it necessary to use a component? Can it all be done simply by using a plugin?

Actually, our server already sends push notifications to offline users (but it is only using Apple Push Notifications). Unfortunately I never developed anything for the server before, and the previous developer is no longer at our company so I can't ask him for help.

Anyways, I ask if it is necessary because I used PSI's Service Discovery option, and the only components that are running on our server are MUC and PubSub, yet I am still able to receive push notifications on my iPhone. So, would this mean that the previous developer implemented push notifications by only using a plugin?

RE: Send push notification with every message - Added by Wojciech Kapcia 7 months ago

Staton Eichman wrote:

Is it necessary to use a component? Can it all be done simply by using a plugin?

It's possible to use a plugin, but dedicated component will definitely be a better solution.